On Tour with Bahama Mama by Tricia Leedom (The Key West Escape, #2), Meet the Author, and Giveaway

This book is a sum up of everything I love, and if you don’t believe me, take a look at my bio: a country music star, South (way, way South) Florida (also, home sweet home), a single mom, danger (well, in books I do love danger). And the author, Tricia, gushes about Key West with me. Really, what can a beach bum, books and country music addict can ask more?

The book is Bahama Mama by Tricia Leedom (The Key West Escape, #2) and it will be out on May 8th 2018 as an Adult, Adventure, Romance.

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Janet Evanovich, this action-packed sequel to Rum Runner from a fresh voice in contemporary romance offers a sexy and comedic take on love, adventure, and what it means to trust your heart.

Troubles are piling up for Molly MacBain. Between navigating the moods of an increasingly sassy teenage daughter, grappling with money problems, and dealing with her daughter’s deadbeat dad, Molly doesn’t need any more stress in her life. Her best friend’s wedding should be a welcome chance to relax, but Molly’s dismayed to discover her friend’s new brother-in-law is her idol—country music superstar Anders Ostergaard. After spending years on the country music circuit herself, Molly can’t help but have a fangirl moment when she meets Anders in real life.

Anders flies to Key West to attend his brother’s wedding and keep a low profile after a Vegas tragedy plasters his face to the cover of every tabloid. He has strict rules about getting involved with fans, but with her sharp wit and refreshing openness, Molly draws him in like no one has before, even as the shadow of his recent scandal stalks closer.

Their flirtation is put on hold when Molly’s daughter witnesses a murder and winds up in Jamaica. Anders offers Molly his private plane, and together they race for Montego Bay, dodging the hit man who’s hell-bent on eliminating everyone who knows of his crimes.

When danger and proximity spark a blazing romance, Molly can’t help wondering about the future. Can a fan and her idol build a lasting love? Or is their relationship just a fling fueled by the sultry Caribbean breeze? And most importantly—can she survive long enough to find out?

BahamaMamaTourBanner-1
I asked Tricia if the setting means to her, if there’s any particular reason why she chose it, and here’s what she told me (I swear, I wasn’t fishing for compliments on Florida’s behalf).

Quaint, quirky Key West is one of my favorite places on the planet. For as long as I’ve been writing I’ve wanted to set a book that takes place on the island. When I decided to write Rum Runner, the setting was the first aspect of the story I decided on. Jimmy Panama’s voice came next. I saw him cruising along the Florida Straights in a speed boat with two bikini-clad babes at his side. I heard his unique voice in my head and envisioned his blond, broad-shouldered form.

Everything propagated from the setting, even the subgenre. Key West seemed like a natural place to set an adventure-themed story and it got me thinking about my favorite romantic adventure film “Romancing the Stone,” which inspired me to write a fish out of water story about a woman who is way out of her element and a man who has ulterior motives. Book two, Bahama Mama, is also set in Key West, but it’s a very different kind of story. It’s an exploration of what it might be like to have a romantic adventure with your celebrity crush.  

But getting back to the setting. Here are the top 10 reasons why I think Key West is the perfect place to set a romantic adventure novel:

  • The architecture – The quirky little town’s pastel-hued homes and tin-roofed conch houses are just as colorful as its history.
  • Speaking of history – Key West has a long and fascinating one with tales of shipwrecks, pirates, treasure-hunters, and a really creepy doll you wouldn’t want to cross paths with in the night.
  • Cool notables like Ernest Hemingway, President Harry Truman, and Jimmy Buffett resided on the island at one time or another.
  • “A drinking town with a boating problem.” Sure, people may say they come to Key West to sail on its pristine blue waters, but the laidback Caribbean atmosphere combined with the tasty drinks are the real draw. Over at the Schooner Warf Bar, Happy Hour starts at 9am and reoccurs three times a day. While on Duval, you’ll find a string of watering holes, everything from legendary dives like Sloppy Joes Bar to world-famous chains like The Hard Rock Café.
  • Clothing optional bars and beaches. 😉
  • Did I mention Key West is quirky? From the six-toed kitties at Hemingway’s place, the flock of roosters hanging out on a street corner in Old Town, the above-ground cemetery, fantasy fest (an annual celebration where people let it all hang out,) the annual Hemingway lookalike contest, a dessert restaurant called “Better Than Sex,” the nightly sunset celebration where acrobats, stilt walkers, and street musicians strive to dazzle onlookers out of their pocket change, to sunburnt tourists on mopeds, Key West is a mecca for the odd and unusual. And whether you’re a drag queen, a biker, an artist, a freak, a geek, preppy, posh, or famous, you are welcome in a town whose official motto is “One Human Family.”
  • Nostalgia – Despite all its modern conveniences, Key West has a flavor of an earlier, less complicated time.
  • The sunset – You haven’t seen a sunset until you’ve seen one from Key West. It’s so amazing, the locals celebrate it every night with a big party in Mallory Square.
  • It’s romantic. The stunning sunsets, the cobble-stoned streets, the laidback vibe, the picture-perfect palm tree lined beaches, and balmy temperatures that inspire the removal of clothing, Key West is just a very sexy locale.

And the number one reason, Key West was the perfect place to set a romantic adventure novel:

  1. Sticky coconut oil, warm sand, and salty sea breezes. Just the thought of these things takes me on a vacation.

(Vivi here, I agree on all ten counts!)

Please follow me on twitter @tricialeedom or Facebook at Tricia Leedom – Author. And you can visit my publisher’s website: www.fireflyhillpress.comto find my author page and finally, keep up to date on all of my future releases, book bargains, sneak peeks, giveaways, special offers, & so much more by subscribing to my publishing house’s newsletter – Click here to join our Firefly Hill family!(Link to include for newsletter subscription: https://confirmsubscription.com/h/j/D24ACE41F6AD1E96)

This is a Tour, so you can know more about the Tricia or the story by following the whole thing. You can find the schedule here: (http://xpressobooktours.com/2018/02/09/tour-sign-up-bahama-mama-by-tricia-leedom/).


TriciaAUTHOR BIO:

Tricia Leedom writes romantic adventure novels with a sense of humor. She earned her BA in Creative Writing from the The University of Tampa and her MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. Tricia enjoys funny hashtags, cheap airfare, and fangirling over a TV show based on her favorite book series. She lives in Southwest Florida.
Author links:

Giveaway:
Tour-wide giveaway (INTL)
  • 10 iBooks download codes and 1 Bahama Mama prize pack (11 winners)

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s