#Interview with Donovan Cook #Author of #NewRelease Son of Anger @DonovanCook20 @maryanneyarde #HistoricalFiction #Vikings

Son of Anger (The Ormstunga Saga, Book 1) by Donovan Cook released in November in the Viking Historical Fiction genre.

Ulf is like a storm, slowly building up its power, he grows more dangerous with each passing moment. And like all storms, he will eventually break. When he does, he will destroy everything in his path.

Ulf is one of a long line of famous Norse warriors. His ancestor Tyr was no ordinary man, but the Norse God of War. Ulf, however, knows nothing about being a warrior.

Everything changes when a stranger arrives on Ulf’s small farm in Vikenfjord. The only family he’s ever known are slaughtered and the one reminder of his father is stolen — Ulf’s father’s sword, Ormstunga. Ulf’s destiny is decided.

Are the gods punishing him? All Ulf knows is that he has to avenge his family. He sets off on an adventure that will take him across oceans, into the eye of danger, on a quest to reclaim his family’s honour.

The gods are roused. One warrior can answer to them.The Son of Anger.

Universal Link: https://books2read.com/u/m2dMOr

Author Bio

Donovan Cook

Donovan Cook was born in South Africa but raised in England, and currently works as an English tutor. He is the author of the Ormstunga Saga, which includes his debut novel Son of Anger and the follow up, Raid of the Wolves. His novels come from his fascination with the Viking world and Norse Mythology and he hopes that you will enjoy exploring this world as much as he did writing about it. 

When Donovan is not teaching or writing, he can be found reading, watching rugby, or working on DIY projects. Being born in South Africa, he is a massive Springboks fan and rarely misses a match.

The Ormstunga Saga is set in Norway and northern Europe in the 9th century and is about bloody battles, chaotic journeys, and interfering gods. It is also about Ulf Bear-Slayer Bjørnson, a young man who comes from a long line of famous Norse warriors. Some even say that his ancestor is Tyr, the Norse god of war. Ulf lives on a small farm in Southern Norway with his aunt and uncle. His mother died when he was a baby and his father fell in battle when Ulf was still a small child, something Ulf resents him and the gods for. 

Everything changes for Ulf in Son of Anger, when Griml, a giant stranger from the north who is as cruel as he is big, arrives on his uncle’s farm, kills his family, and steals his father’s famous sword, Ormstunga. The series follows Ulf’s quest to avenge his family and retrieve his father’s sword. Ulf’s journey will not be easy. The gods have other plans and amuse themselves by placing many obstacles in Ulf’s way. But these are not the only dangers Ulf has to face. The ambitions of powerful men prevent him from seeking out Griml and avenging his family as jarls and kings send him and his friends on raids fraught with danger. Along the way, Ulf learns more about his family and the story of the sword he coveted his whole life, as well as the curse of the Ormstunga, a dangerous warning that will cost him his life if he ignores it. Ulf also learns that to avenge his family he must embrace his father’s legacy and bloodline, something he has fought against for most of his life. All Ulf cares about is finding and killing the man who brutally murdered his family, but he soon learns there is a price for everything, and that price is especially high when you catch the eye of Odin, father of the gods of Asgard.

In Raid of the Wolves, the second novel, Ulf and the people of Thorgilsstad are still struggling to deal with the events from Son of Anger when Snorri, Ulf’s friend and leader, kills the jarl of the neighboring town. The king is furious but sees an opportunity to enrich himself. He sends Ulf and his friends on a raid to Francia, a mighty kingdom to the south. Francia is embroiled in a civil war and like many Viking leaders, King Halfdan wants to take advantage. Again, Ulf’s quest for vengeance has to be put to the side to do another’s bidding, something he is not happy about. From the beginning though, it is clear that the gods are not with them on this raid as they get caught in a sea storm that sinks one of Snorri’s ships. But things only get worse, as Ulf soon realizes that there is another threat lurking in the shadows, someone who is willing to do everything to destroy Ulf. Ulf begins to question himself as the constant threat of ambush and betrayal follows him through Francia and he is convinced the only reason he is alive is because of the oath he made to Odin. But Odin has other plans for Ulf and during the battle to take a large city in western Francia, Ulf comes face to face with the last person he expected to find there.

After the disastrous raid, Ulf and his friends limp back to Thorgilsstad, feeling safe after escaping a trap none of them saw coming. But in Chaos of the Gods, the third novel of the series, the gods are not done with them yet. A vicious sea storm sends them back into harm’s way and Ulf finds himself locked in the deadliest battle of his life. No longer the hunters, but now the hunted, Ulf and his friends must find a way home after losing their ship. And with Griml, the man who killed his family, hunting him down, Ulf can’t afford to sit around and feel sorry for himself. But Ulf finds help from an unusual source and is forced to do the one thing he has been reluctant to do. Trust the gods. Battered and bruised, and heavily outnumbered, Ulf and his friends make a final stand against their enemies. The gods want their chaos and to survive, Ulf must give them what they want. 

Social Media Links:

Website: https://www.donovancook.net/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DonovanCook20

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DonovanCookAuthor

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/donovan-cook

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Donovan-Cook/e/B08PC3BDRX

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/20887374.Donovan_Cook


This post is part of a tour. Tour Schedule: https://maryanneyarde.blogspot.com/2022/09/son-of-anger-ormstunga-saga-book-1-by.html

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.