Romance

In Between Days by Anne Jamison

The title is evocative, the cover great, and the plot as interesting and hard as it can be.

In Between Days by Anne Jamison released in September in the Young adult genre.

Chicago suburbs, 1985. The high school. The mall. The blood-stained Mercedes. Misogyny. Homophobia. Class warfare. Cocaine. (And the first semester isn’t even over yet.)

The Jocks with their pastel Izods. The Barbies. The loser Burnouts.

High school in the 1980s had rules. Barbies and Jocks can mix. Barbie cheerleaders steer clear of the losers. Punks want to burn it all down.

Samantha Ward doesn’t love the rules, but she plays to win. So when a snarky Burnout goes after her in a face-off, of course she fights back. Of course she fights mean. She may not get his sex joke, but she knows he made one. About her. In front of the entire cafeteria. And what’s worse, she feels a tingle when she looks at bad-boy Jason.

How could she know her mean girl put-down would launch a war? Or that the school she knows hides a darker world she never even dreamed of?

In Between Days is a pitch-perfect story of first love, friendship, and enemies; of loyalty, betrayal, and the power of secrets. This darkly funny, suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of The Outsiders and The Breakfast Club.

“GRIPPING AND UNPUTDOWNABLE.” –Christina Lauren, international bestselling authors of Dating You/Hating You “THIS WAS a bittersweet tumble into eighties high school nostalgia, with all the angst, sexual tension and emotional confusion involved with first love, and so well done it was a non-stop read to the end.… (Oh, and one of the best first kisses I have EVER read…),” says one reviewer

Author’s Note:

This is a historical novel that contains period language that is, and was then, and should be, offensive.

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/in-between-days-anne-e-jamison/1133878288?ean=9781087805757

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/in-between-days-10

Apple: https://books.apple.com/us/book/in-between-days/id1481939900

The clock by her bed was flashing 10:15 when the tapping on her window got louder, became knocking, rattled the glass in its frame until it finally woke her all the way. She’d been sick, she told everyone, and she’d gone to bed early, too early for a Saturday night. Still, it wasn’t as early as what the clock said. Something must have happened with the power.

The face floated pale in the darkened glass and made her jump. She felt terror before realizing the face was familiar and looked plenty scared itself. The moon lit the room enough for her to go to the window, unlock and open it, then the screen. She cringed at the metallic scraping sound it made beneath her fingers.

“What? Isn’t it, like, the middle of the night? My clock is off, what are you doing here? What’s going on?” Her voice sounded sleepy and panicked at the same time and seemed to echo loudly in the moonlight.

The whisper was tense and barely audible. “Sssh. Keep it down. What’s going on is that our friend is bleeding all over the leather seats of my dad’s Mercedes and can’t seem to say anything but your name. I’m all alone except for a weepy stoner in the front seat who faints at the sight of blood. And we’re running out of time.”

“Look, then don’t you need a hospital instead of—me?” As she looked closer, she could see the face outside the window was tearstained and streaked with blood.

“Yes. But.” The face looked up and met her eyes, the distance greater than the space of night between them. Then it went on speaking. “Listen, I know it seems strange, my coming to you now, and I know things got a little messed up between us. But I know who you really are. You’re the only person here I can trust. There’s a bleeding person in that car who apparently feels the same way. Add it up.” 

So she did. “Wait one second.”

She came back with a clean towel. “For the blood. You know, pressure. I’ll be down in a minute with everything else.”

“Hurry. Car’s across the street, lights off. If you’re not out in ten minutes, I’ll assume you got caught and I’ll have to leave without you.”

And the face was gone. In its place, she could see that the lights were off all over town, so for that night, at least, the world she knew really was a darker place.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Anne Jamison is the author of three critical books, including Fic: Why Fanfiction is Taking Over the World. She lives in Salt Lake City with her dogs, her son, and an avant-garde poet. She is an English professor, but not the kind that corrects your grammar (unless she is actively grading your paper). In Between Days is her first novel. 

www.annejamison.net

FB: https://www.facebook.com/annejamisonauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/prof_anne

Insta: https://www.instagram.com/annejamisonauthor/

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION

$25 Amazon or B/N GC 

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/28e4345f3223


Please, share this post!

In Between Days by Anne Jamison #bibliophile #bookclub #booksy #booknerd #bookworm #bookblogger #bloggerstyle @goddessfish


http://www.goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com

Categories: Romance

Tagged as: , , , ,

16 replies »

  1. Good morning! At least, it is morning in Utah. A little cold and drizzly–perfect November weather, though.

    Thank you so much for hosting this book excerpt tour and getting it off to a good start. I’m happy to answer any questions about the book…or other books (I teach) or…my basset hounds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thank you! The cover is from a photograph of Chicago taken from my fictional North Shore suburb (loosely based on where John Hughes, The Breakfast Club director, grew up)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.