Romance

Release Day for Of Dawn and Embers, and Series spotlight: Of Cinder and Bone by Kyoko M. and Meet the Author

Cool, dragons! And the last one in this series releases today! Once again, I’ll go in order so it’s easier to get into the story.

The series is Of Cinder and Bone by Kyoko M., a SciFi Fantasy Romance.

Of Cinder and Bone ~ Of Cinder and Bone Book 1

After centuries of being the most dangerous predators on the planet, dragons were hunted to extinction. That is, until Dr. Rhett “Jack” Jackson and Dr. Kamala Anjali cracked the code to bring them back. Through their research at MIT, they resurrected the first dragon anyone has seen alive since the 15th century. There’s just one problem.

Someone stole it.

Caught between two ruthless yakuza clans who want to clone the dragon, Jack and Kamala brave the dangerous streets of Tokyo to steal their dragon back in a race against time before the world is taken over by mutated, bloodthirsty monsters that will raze it to ashes.

Of Cinder and Bone is an all-new sci-fi thriller from the author of the Amazon bestselling Black Parade novels. Don’t miss out on this explosive first-in-series! Fans of Westworld, I Robot, Pacific Rim, and Reign of Fire will fall in love with this mashup novel that opens up a whole new world of possibilities into what we know and love about dragons.

OF CINDER AND BONE is Ron Howard’s Ransom meets Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park! 

**FREE at Amazon and Smashwords!!**

Add to Goodreads

Smashwords

Jack raised his gun as a man came around the front of the truck and opened fire with a roar, emptying the clip into the man’s chest. The yakuza crumpled to the road in a heap. Another one stepped out from behind him and raised his AR-15, his finger closing on the trigger.

And then the dragon dropped out of the sky right on top of him.

Pete slammed the man to the ground with her clawed feet and took a vicious bite out of his neck, killing him instantly. A third man jumped on top of the truck’s hood and stopped dead out of pure shock, as he was now level with her. The dragon snarled and slammed her tail into his chest. It sent him cartwheeling off the edge of the road and down into the ravine beside it, screaming the whole way.

The dragon snorted once and then hurried over to Jack and Kamala, sniffing them briefly in confirmation, and then nudging them towards her large, scaly torso.

“I… I think she wants us to get on,” Kamala said, dumbfounded as Pete bumped her side up against them and flapped her huge wings.

“That’s impossible,” Jack sputtered. “The two of us together nearly weigh three hundred pounds. She can’t possibly lift—holy shitbricks!”

  Impatient, the dragon slid her neck through Jack’s parted legs and stood up, barking once at Kamala. She threw her leg over the dragon’s back. Then Pete took three mighty steps towards the edge of the road and leapt off.

For three terrifying seconds, they dropped through the air like a cement block.

Then, Pete’s leathery wings spread and they flew.

Gunfire cracked behind them, but the dragon flapped her wings to carry them higher out of harm’s way. She wheeled to one side and they disappeared into the shadow of the mountain range, over the forest below.

Jack dug his fingers into the dragon’s collar and finally opened his eyes. He stared speechless at the ground easily forty feet below them and into the cloudy horizon. Wind whistled past his ears, interrupted only by the powerful strokes of the dragon’s wings and the raspy clink of the chain still dragging below her body as they cut through the crisp air. She flew smoothly, as if she’d been doing it all her life, as if it were an effortless skill.

Behind him, Kamala had locked her arms around his waist and buried her face between his shoulder blades when they’d first taken off. Now, she held one hand out flat, her palm parallel to the ground, feeling the wind rushing over it. Half-hysterical laughter enveloped them both as the dragon carried them higher still, until they were circling one of the mountain’s peaks.

Enormous clouds piled high around the mountain and the air became sharply cold as they neared it. The trees stopped halfway up its craggy face and gave way to perpetual ice created from the height and upper atmosphere. As Pete circled for the fourth time, they realized she was searching for shelter.

On the fifth pass, the dragon brought her wings in close to her body in a dive as they reached a cliff near the mouth of a cave. She fought the stiff wind and landed hard, digging her claws into the earth. Jack helped Kamala off and the dragon shook herself and stepped forward into the cave. The two of them called to her, but she paid them no mind. The freezing temperature and high winds wouldn’t make it easy to get down any time soon.

They had no choice.

So they followed the dragon into the darkness.


Of Blood and Ashes ~ Of Cinder and Bone Book 2

The world’s deadliest dragon, the infamous Baba Yaga, is loose on the streets of Tokyo. 

Dr. Rhett “Jack” Jackson and Dr. Kamala Anjali have been tasked with helping the government take down a dragon the size of a Tyrannosaurus Rex after it sends part of the city up in flames. Things worsen when they lose track of dragon in none other than Aokigahara, the Suicide Forest–a section of woods in Japan that is rumored to be one of the most haunted places on earth. They’ve also got the yakuza who cloned the dragon hellbent on getting her back, and they don’t care who they kill in order to re-capture the dragon. 

Jack and Kamala are joined by CIA field agent William Fry and dragon-hunting expert Juniper Snow as they infiltrate the forest to hunt the dragon before she can hurt anyone else. Between the ruthless yakuza hot on their trail and the growing mistrust in their small hunting party, it will take a miracle for Jack and Kamala to make it out alive…
Of Blood and Ashes is the second book in the series, following the Amazon bestselling Of Cinder and Bone.

Goodreads


Of Dawn and Embers ~ Of Cinder and Bone Book 3

It’s been six months since Dr. Rhett “Jack” Jackson and Dr. Kamala Anjali had their dragon cloning project shut down by the government. Just when they think they’ve gotten their lives back together, an agency within the government hits them with another suckerpunch: a criminal organization has cloned dozens of dragons in order to hold vicious dragon fighting rings. The government recruits Jack and Kamala to help them track down the organization. Jack and Kamala set out to put a stop to the illegal fights before any more dragons die…or worse, escape.

Of Dawn and Embers is the third novel in Kyoko M’s sci-fi/contemporary fantasy series, following Of Cinder and Bone and Of Blood and Ashes.

**Last day to get it for only 99 cents!!**

Goodreads

About the Author

Kyoko M is a USA Today bestselling author, a fangirl, and an avid book reader. She has a Bachelor of Arts in English Lit degree from the University of Georgia, which gave her every valid excuse to devour book after book with a concentration in Greek mythology and Christian mythology. When not working feverishly on a manuscript (or two), she can be found buried under her Dashboard on Tumblr, or chatting with fellow nerds on Twitter, or curled up with a good Harry Dresden novel on a warm Georgia night. Like any author, she wants nothing more than to contribute something great to the best profession in the world, no matter how small.

Hi Kyoko and thank you so much for being here today.

How did you come up with the concept and characters for the book?

To do a little backtracking, since this is the third book in the series, the idea for the first book, Of Cinder and Bone, came from two things: (1) the laughably awful but intriguing movie Reign of Fire (2002) and (2) a dream that I had about three people—two girls, and a guy—sleeping in a bed together, and all three of them were in a relationship with each other.

Reign of Fire was just a jumping off point. I originally conceptualized Of Cinder and Bone as a post-apocalyptic story about a widower and his daughter hunting dragons, but that is so not what happened. I opened a Word document and something entirely different popped out, and I ended up liking it a lot more than the original idea. I thought that it was much more interesting to integrate dragons into the modern world than to let them have already destroyed it and have a very dark, gritty story about grief and survival.

As for the characters, it’s so odd that just an image from a dream created Jack, Kamala, and Faye. The most I remember was waking up and thinking that I’d love to tackle a truly loving, mature polygamous relationship, and their personalities just came to me after a point. I joke that Jack is basically if Harry Dresden and I had a kid, and he was super into science. Kamala was inspired by Dr. Neela Rasgotra from the hit show ER. Faye was inspired by Faye Valentine from Cowboy Bebop (1997). The characters you’re going to meet for the first time (minor spoilers) like Bruce Calloway, Libby Calloway, and Agent Shannon are also based on different people. Calloway was inspired by the hilarious and talented actor Anthony Mackie; Libby was inspired by Maxine Gibson from Batman Beyond (1999); Agent Shannon was inspired by Colonel Richard Strickland from The Shape of Water (2017). I often have jumping off points based on fiction I truly enjoyed and want to run with a concept or physicality from a character.

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Bookbub * Amazon * Goodreads

Giveaway

  • $20 Amazon
  • ebooks of books 2 & 3 – 1 winner each

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!


www.silverdaggertours.com

2 replies »

  1. Thanks so much for your guest post. I enjoy getting to meet new-to-me authors. Your books sound awesome and I love the dragons on the covers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.