Death & Damages: A Mystery and Thriller Collection

I like and read, at least two of this set’s Authors, Maggie Carpenter and Fiona Quinn, and other names are very familiar (I have issues with remembering names in general, and it doesn’t get better when it comes to authors, I’m afraid). But I know for sure some of them, and that’s enough to make me think this is a great set of stories!

Death & Damages: A Mystery and Thriller Collection was out a few days back in the Adult, Mystery, Thriller genre.

Synopsis:

Danger lurks around every corner!

Courageous cops, adventurous agents, and daring detectives hunt for the answers to stop crimes by vicious killers.

But what if the damage is already done?

Inside these pages you’ll find 24 adventures full of captivating conundrums, hair-raising homicides, and suspenseful secrets from today’s USA Today & Wall Street Journal bestselling and award-winning authors. Become a private investigator yourself. Inspect plots of deadly assassins, cold-blooded killers, and bone-chilling suspense inside the pages of DEATH AND DAMAGES, an enthralling mystery and thriller boxed set.

Fans of Lee Child, James Patterson, Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and John Grisham will devour these puzzling mysteries and gripping thrillers.

Pre-order today to secure this thrilling limited edition collection!

Included stories from several USA Today and NYT Bestselling authors.
Patricia Loofbourrow
Pauline Creeden
John Ling
Alexa Padgett
Siera London
Shereen Vedam
Deborah Shlian
Kelly Hashway
Maggie Carpenter
Tiana Laveen
Angela Sanders
Karen M. Bryson
Aime Austin
Lisa B. Thomas
Fiona Quinn
Kerry J. Donovan
Jane Blythe
Dan Alatorre
Muffy Wilson
Dariel Raye
Ja’Nese Dixon
Terry Keys
Bill Hargenrader
Judith Lucci
Maria Grazia Swan

Purchase:
DeathAndDamagesBlitzBanner
Excerpts:

Vengeance by John Ling

Maya Raines hated the idea of walking into a trap, but she decided to do it anyway.

She was dressed in a Muslim robe — long and loose and rustling in the wind. Her face was covered by a veil. She carried a grocery bag as she moved along the sidewalk, being careful not to trip on the pockmarked concrete and scattered rubble.

All around her, ominous black flags hung from the shopfronts and soared from the rooftops, declaring the rise of an Islamist caliphate. And just ahead, a roadblock had been set up, manned by jihadi fighters. A modified pickup truck — a technical — was parked on the intersection, with a machine gun mounted on its rear bed.

Maya could hear Arabic being spoken in the distance. It sounded harsh and strident; completely different to the gentle melodic rhythm of the Malay language that she was used to. These men were foreign Sunnis. They had come from as far afield as Egypt and Libya, drawn to Malaysia by the promise of killing local Shiites.

Maya felt the slow burn of anxiety in her stomach…

Facing the Past Excerpt by Alexa Padgett

“Hank. Thirteen hours. At dawn, Jonathan, gone for thirteen hours.”

Hank turned toward Nancy, his look hollow. Nothing moved across his face, through his eyes. He tilted his head, marginally interested as she swallowed then gasped for air. Hank closed his eyes. “I can’t see any better in the dark than they can,” he said. “You heard the detective say they brought in the dogs. A helicopter from Fort Worth. It’s a full-scale search, almost everyone in town was out looking till it got too dark.”

A faint hum. Louder, a thwap, thwap overhead, a blinding spotlight. Again.

“They could miss him from up there.”

“We’ve already missed him,” Hank shot back, eyes glinting in the semi-darkness.

Nancy shrank back, away from him.

He lowered his head nearly to his knees. Inhaled, exhaled. “My son.”

Cicadas hummed, pressing their bodies against the house. Nothing could hold them together. Not with Jonny missing.

A whippoorwill called. Hank stood there, between the foyer and the living room where Nancy huddled.

“What are we going to do?” she asked him.

Another pass from the helicopter. A dog barking.

Hank hesitated again before seeming to consciously lift his leg to step into the room.

He lay his hand on her shoulder, fingers against her collarbone, his face telling Nancy he was too used up to do more as darkness crowded out the faint porch light.


GIVEAWAY

Blitz-wide giveaway (INTL)
  • $25 Amazon gift card
  • eBook copy of Suicide Blonde by Karen M. Bryson
  • eBook copy of Forbidden Distraction by Siera London
  • eBook copy of Love Thy Sister by Maria Grazia Swan
  • eBook copy of VENGEANCE by John Ling
  • eBook copy of Facing the Past by Alexa Padgett

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.